Jump Start Your Health With Walking

Jump Start Your Health With Walking

 

Glenneth_YourPathToFit_300x300
Hi!  My name is Glenneth and I am the blogger behind YourPathToFit.com.  I am super excited to be here – Thanks, Natasha!!!
A little about me – I am in my mid-40s and live in Knoxville, TN.  I am a holistic health coach and a certified personal trainer.  Six years ago I started walking for fitness and have walked over 150 5Ks since then.  I started out as a true couch potato and I believe that walking is a great exercise if you need somewhere to start.
 I firmly believe that being healthy and fit is different for everyone and you have to find what works for you.
 Looking to get started working out and don’t know where to start?  WALK!
What You’ll Need
  • While you can truly walk in any type of clothing and shoes, I highly recommend some good athletic shoes if you are walking any kind of distance.   Go to a running store and get fitted.  They will be pricey, but trust me – your feet will thank you.
  • A water bottle – it is super important to stay hydrated while working out – especially during the summer heat.
  • A place to walk (see section below)
  • An app or a watch that tracks time and distance (optional).  I currently use an app on my IPhone called Map My Fitness.  I also have an Apple Watch and a Garmin I use sometimes.
Where to Walk
My favorite place to walk is at a local children’s hospital.  They have a .7 mile loop around their building that is close to my house and in a safe neighborhood.  Some places you might consider walking:
  • The gym on a treadmill or track
  • A local school’s track
  • The mall
  • Local greenways
  • Through your neighborhood
Do think about safety – especially if you are walking alone.  I recommend letting someone know where you are walking and when you will return.
How to Get Started
If you haven’t worked out in a while or are completely new to exercise, this is what I start my clients with.  Schedule time three days per week giving yourself a day of rest between each walking day.
  • Day 1 – Walk 10-15 minutes
  • Day 2 – Walk 15-20 minutes
  • Day 3 – Walk 20-25 minutes
By the end of the first week, you are walking 1 mile at a time.  Walk at a comfortable pace.  You should be able to carry on a conversation, but not sing.  Try to find something fairly flat (this is pretty hard in our area) and then work your way up to hills.
Want to train for a 5K?  My Walk Your Way to a 5K ebook is a 6-week program to get you ready for your first 5K.
Thanks for letting me drop by!
Glenneth
One thought on “Jump Start Your Health With Walking

Leave a Reply

